Empowering Students

Creativity Pen Power Design Sharpie Felt Drawing

Engaged pedagogy does not seek simply to empower students. Any classroom that employs a holistic model of learning will also be a place where teachers grow, and are empowered by the process. That empowerment cannot happen if we refuse to be vulnerable while encouraging students to take risks  

[hooks, Teaching to Transgress]

I have been reading a lot of bell hooks’ writing and have felt very empowered by her words. I think I have mostly experienced this through my work in the classroom. I want to empower the students that I work with and I feel that, with my position as volunteer and helper, I am here to learn and understand the dynamics of the classroom and the ways in which they operate. I find hooks’ words to be a perfect representation of my task; empower students by showing my own vulnerability. I have been playing with this idea in regards to my authority and my position in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

